Reviews



Brantfell House - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed staying here in beautiful Ambleside. Hosts very attentive and helpful. Accomodation excellent and very clean well maintained.

Response

Thank you Paul, glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Brantfell.Hope the \'pies\' lived up to expectation.We hope you will visit us again in the future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Paul F | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Mandy and Aidy run a friendly, comfortable and clean little enterprise within a short walk of all the central Ambleside amenities. They are from Bradford (as I am) and were helpful and cheerful and gave me a tasty breakfast. Strongly recommended.

Response

Thanks Seth, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back to see us again in the near future.Hope your next trip goes well and the family are all well.RegardsMandy & Aide

Reviewer:seth J | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We were looking for a good place to stay which was handily placed, reviews were good so we thought not everyone can be wrong and It proved to be the case. The hotel has been modernised to a high standard and the owners are really nice, it's very clean and the breakfast was good. The location of the hotel is very good being really close to town with all the bars and restaurants very close and the lake is just a short walkaway.We'd certainly recommend and would be happy to return.

Response

Thanks Ernie, glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be back to see us in the near future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Ernest D | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Outstanding- Rating 5/5

Top hostsGreat showerNice roomGreat breakfastHandy parkingGood WiFiDouble glazing would be nice

Response

Thank you for the review Dominic, we will take your comments into consideration, but glad your overall stay was a good one.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:DOMINIC L | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Welcoming and friendly, in ideal location- Rating 5/5

Mandy and Adie are welcoming and friendly - great location, comfortable bed, well equipped room, good shower, and freshly prepared fruit salad for breakfast. Adie and Mandy filled our thermos, recommended local restaurants, and looked after our bags until time to leave.They are great and relaxed hosts and we will stay here again.

Response

Thank you for taking time to give us a review Carol it is appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us again when you next visit Ambleside.Hope the journey home was a good one and we look forward to seeing you in the future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Carol D | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

We booked a one night stay as we were attending a wedding in Bowness the following day. Location was ideal for local sightseeing, bars and restaurants. We were given a warm welcome by the proprietor and was offered advise on places to eat. Whilst our room was small it was spotlessly clean and cosy, had en suite facilities, fresh towels, toiletries and tea & coffee making facilities. Breakfast was excellent, plentiful and lots of choices. Very pleasant stay. Thank you.

Response

Thank you Paula and Alan, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back for longer in the near future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Paula and Alan B | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you Mandy & Adrian for making my stay so comfrtable, room was clean, warm and very cosy. Hosts were so friendly and had time for everyone on arrival and at breakfast. Breakfast was excellent as well,thank you both, would highly recommend Brantfell and I would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review it is really appreciated.We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope next time you will be able to stay longer.Hope your trip to Keswick was enjoyable and you had a safe journey home.See you again in the near future all being well.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Liz R | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

A great find in Ambleside,located near the centre it is within easy reach of shops restaurants etc.On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Mandy and Adie.Our room (No.6) offered great views towards the church and fells was extremely comfortable and spotless.Breakfast was very hearty and set you up for the day,once again a big thank you to Mandy and Adie for a wonderful stay and hope to be back next year.

Response

Thank you Mark, glad you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope you choose to stay at Brantfell next year.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Mark W | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Amazing Guest House - Rating 5/5

Best stay of our UK trip. Warm hospitable hosts.Helped us to our room after a long day of travel. Room was spotless. Nice linens and comfortable bed. Breakfast was outsta ding.

Response

Thank you Velma so glad you and Richard enjoyed your stay at Brantfell and we hope you choose to stay with us again if you visit the Lake District in the future. Have a safe journey home.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Velma R | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Faultless and Friendly Stay - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome and our custom valued.Mandy and Adey are perfect hosts and ensured our stay in Ambleside was a real treat. Some great suggestions on where to go in Ambleside to eat and drink, followed by very tasty and filling breakfast. Room and bathroom were comfortable, warm and absolutely spotless. Nothing was too much trouble and I hope we get the chance to return before too much longer.

Response

Thanks Jonathan we are glad you both enjoyed your stay and we hope the family all survived in your absence!!!!!.Good luck to York Knights over the next three games. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Jonathan T | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


MRS - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere Welcoming, clean and very comfortable room and an excellent breakfast. Provided all that I would look for in a B& B. Will certainly stay again and would recommend to friends.

Response

Thank you Elaine, glad youenjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again when you next visit Ambleside.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Elaine C | Sat 1st Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Fantastic trip - Rating 5/5

Mandy and Adie were fantastic hosts, very friendly and welcoming. Had a brilliant 2night stay, would definitely recommend.

Response

Thanks Suzanne, glad you enjoyed your stay, hope you have had a great weekend and the party continued!!! We hope you will all stay with us again if you visit the Lakes / Ambleside.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Suzanne M | Sun 26th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Brilliant- Rating 5/5

Adrian greeted us with a smile, and was friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast abd room with a view.Great tip on scenic road to drive out on our departure.’Couldnt be happier.

Response

Thanks Warwick, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the drive out on your departure.Hope you choose to stay with us again if you are every in the Lakes again.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Warwick H | Thu 16th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

Thank you Adie and Mandy for a great stay at Brantfell House. Our room was cosy, nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast was cooked to perfection each morning by Mandy and Adie did a great job keeping everybody happy in the dining room! The house is very conveniently and pleasantly located. Any questions or problems and Adie and Mandy were very happy to help - nothing was too much trouble! Thank you again and we will be sure to return next time we visit the Lakes.

Response

Thank you Laura glad you enjoyed your stay at Brantfell and we certainly hope to see you again in the near future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Laura T | Tue 7th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Superb stay at the Brantfell - Rating 5/5

Had a brilliant stay with Mandy and Adie at the Brantfell,they were excellent hosts who went out of there way to help. Adie was very knowledgeable giving daily tips and guidance. Mandy also gave us some good eating out tips which we ate in.The hotel was in a lovely location just next to the village green, it was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The room we stayed in was very homely so much so i would love it to be in my home. Thank you both for a wonderful stay and hope to see you both on our next visit to Ambleside.

Response

Thank you for the review Kevan, we are glad you and Pat enjoyed your stay and that we made you feel at home.Hope you do get to see us again later this year.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Kevan K | Sat 4th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Brilliant location,clean and comfortable room but it is the hosts that make this place so special. I highly reccomend it

Response

Thanks David, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you got home safe with your new purchase..Hope you will be back to visit us in the near future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:David J | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Fabulous accommodation! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Adrian & Mandy’s accommodation last weekend to complete 2 walks and from start to finish we were made so welcome! Fantastic breakfast each morning and lovely clean rooms. Would recommend to anyone and we will definitely return for another stay.

Response

Thanks Mark, glad you both enjoyed your stay and walks! look forward to seeing you again in the near future we hope.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Mark E | Wed 25th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Great experience! - Rating 5/5

My wife and I, as well as our parents stayed here and had a wonderful experience. The accommodations were just as described, and the hosts were charming.Breakfast was great too! Would recommend to anyone.

Response

Thank you Andrew for the review, we are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Brantfell and we hope next time you are in the Lakes you will choose to stay with us again.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Andrew Q | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


FANTASTIC B&B - Rating 5/5

What a lovely stay we had at the Brantfell House. Aidie and Mandy made us so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast in the morning was perfect. They are a credit to their profession and we will definitely be returning soon. Best B& B in Ambleside. Good luck for the rest of the season. Not that you will need it.

Response

Thank you so much John for the great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come to stay with us again in the near future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:John F | Sun 15th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Perfect locationin Ambleside - Rating 4/5

Friendly attentive hosts. Excellent breakfast. The small ensuite double bedroom was clean and comfortable, okay for a single person but a couple may find it a bit cramped. Nice ensuite.

Reviewer:Carolyn L | Thu 5th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Ideall location in Ambleside - Rating 4/5

Friendly attentive hosts. Excellent breakfast. The small ensuite double bedroom was clean and comfortable, okay for a single person but a couple may find it a bit cramped. Nice ensuite.

Response

Thank you Carolyn, hope you got everything sorted and got home safely.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Carolyn L | Thu 5th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

We stayed in room 6 which is gorgeous, run by a lovely friendly couple who go out of their way for you. The location is perfect for the town or the lake and the views from room 6 were spectacular. We will definately be returning

Response

Thank you Helen glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Helen R | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Brantfell House - Rating 5/5

Excellent on all aspects. Rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable and breakfast was first class. Aidy and Mandy were great hosts. Thank you for your hospitality and hope to see you again.

Response

Thanks Daniel, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your family again in the near future. Best wishes to your parents hope they are both well.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:DANIEL M | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Lovely B&B, very welcoming. - Rating 5/5

Very friendly B& B. Adrian and Mandy were very welcoming. Room was spotless and modern with a lovely comfy bed. Breakfast was superb, 5 star. Good location for our 2 night stay. We’ll be back next year if my future daughter in law does The Great North Swim again. Many thanks.

Response

Thanks Pamela glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next year all being well.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Pamela D | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Assessment- Rating 4/5

We had an enjoyable time atBrantfell and were looked after well by Mandy and Adrian. We stayed in room 6,which gave us the comfort we expected.Brantfell House is highly recommemdable.Parking availability is limited.

Response

So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Brantfell and we hope you had a safe journey home. We hope to see you again in the near future if decide to visit the UK and Lake District again.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:S | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Happy Stay - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at Brantfell House,, it is very comfortable, extremely clean andideally situated, the breakfasts were brilliant. One of the best guest houses I have stayed at.

Response

Thank you Liz, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Elizabeth A | Fri 25th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Brantfell House Review- Rating 5/5

Delightful stay - spotlessly clean - nothing a problem.Ade and Mandy the perfect hosts .Thoroughly recommend

Response

Thanks Robert, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again later in the year.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Robert B | Wed 23rd May 2018 | 6 months ago


From Jarnells - Rating 5/5

A wonderful time from start to finish. Hosts couldn't do enough for us. Very comfortable room.Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to everyone.

Response

Thank you Hilary, glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope the rest of your visit to the UK is a good one. Safe journey home and we hope to see you again when you are over here next.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Hilary J | Wed 23rd May 2018 | 6 months ago


Warm & friendly - Rating 4/5

Comfortable b& b, very friendly and attentive owners.Smallish room but very clean. Ideal location

Response

Thanks Denise, we are pleased that you chose Brantfell and hope you will choose to stay with us againRegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Denise C | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 6 months ago


Excellent service - Rating 5/5

The owners were very friendly and helpful, and our stay was perfect.

Response

Thanks Sarah glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back to visit again soon.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Sarah S | Tue 15th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Ade and Mandy are super hosts, the rooms were perfect and spotless, breakfast menu varied - just right. They were friendly and extremely customer centric, simply could not do enough. They purchased the guest house in October, perfect today - can't imagine how good it will be in 12 months time. My mates and I will be back to the lake district again soon for biking, canoeing and walking - can't wait to come back, we will certainly return.

Response

Thanks Dave, glad you and the guys enjoyed your stay, we must say you were the perfect guest\'s and certainly provided us with plenty of laughs, during your eventful stay.Hope you get back to Lakes this year and come to stay with us again.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Dave W | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay. Lovely friendly owners, excellent food, immaculate decoration, ideal location.

Response

Thank you so much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are in Ambleside.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Maureen P | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Birthday Weekend - Rating 5/5

Fantastic place to stay highly recomended made very welcome we will be re booking soon

Response

Thanks Chris, glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again soon all being well.

Reviewer:Chris W | Tue 27th Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


Our stay at Brantfell - Rating 5/5

Great spacious room, fantastic en-suite, lovely decor. Good breakfast to set you up for the day.Owners Mandy and Adrian were pleasant and friendly and nothing was too much trouble and they added little touches to make your stay more memorable.Highly recommended !!

Response

Thank you Catherine glad you enjoyed and hope to see you again later this year.

Reviewer:Catherine W | Sun 25th Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


Birthday stay - Rating 5/5

Arrived about 11.30 am and was very pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. We were made very welcome by the hosts and were shown to our room which was at the top of the house. I had chosen to pay for a larger room and it was lovely, with a seperate sitting area, the decor was very much in keeping with the lakes. We had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone wanting a central place to stay. The only thing I would say is that it was rather pricy, but not sure what other places in Ambleside charge.

Response

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.RegardsMandy & Adrian

Reviewer:Susan G | Mon 29th Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


Brantfell House excellent- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful night stay at Brantfell House. Adrian and Mandy were so pleasant and welcoming. The room was lovely, bed comfy and breakfast tasty. Definitely go back again

Response

Thanks Heather glad you enjoyed your stay, hope the dip was good too!!!!!RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Heather W | Mon 8th Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent Hospitality - Rating 4/5

Stayed 2 days with friends for a Xmas Break.Very friendly and accommodating hosts,comfortable bed,excellent breakfast,great to be so near the centre of Ambleside.They even provided a marvellous sunny day - fabulous for walking. Would recommend.

Response

Thank you Paula, we are glad you all enjoyed and hope to see you again next year.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Paula W | Sat 30th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


Brant fell December stay. - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, hosts were very welcoming and made the weekend into a very enjoyable experience.

Response

Thank you Anne, we hope to see you again soon.RegardsAdie & Mandy

Reviewer:Anne S | Mon 18th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Really lovely place!- Rating 5/5

Loved the the Brantfell! Ade and Mandy where extremely welcoming, really friendly, very helpful and offered there assistance whenever it was needed! They also, very kindly, did me a little favour for me for my girlfriends birthday! The room was wonderful, clean, very spacious, the bed was extremely comfy and breakfast in the morning was very nice! Will be visiting again! Thankyou from Elliot and Emma 😊

Response

Thanks Elliot, we are glad you and Emma enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.RegardsMandy & Adie

Reviewer:Elliot J | Mon 18th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


The host was a friendly Yorkshire Leeds supporter - Rating 4/5

Great location. Friendly. Super breakfast. Nice shower. Slept well

Reviewer:steve gould l | Tue 31st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Fab place! Exactly what we wanted. - Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and i had a wonderful stay at Brantfell House. We arrived to a very welcoming couple. We were given a parking pass so that we could park anywhere in the area for free as free parking is limited, so that was very useful and saved us some money and gave us peace of mind. We filled in a form to order our breakfast for the next day, and i even requested something that wasn't on there originally but they were happy to provide which was lovely. Breakfast really was very, very good and set us up nicely for the day! The bedroom was large and very comfortable, we were in room 3. Everywhere was very clean and we literally have no complaints. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Mica A | Tue 31st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Super Weekend - Rating 5/5

We had such a fabulous time staying at Brantfell house! It was located in a perfect place to explore, the hosts made us feel very welcome and couldn’t have done more to help us. The room was lovely and super clean. Breakfast was amazing and we can’t wait to come back!

Response

congratulations to you both, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could be part of your special week!!Don\'t forget our invitation to the wedding .....

Reviewer:Mayah D | Sat 28th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Ambleside\'s got a new top B&B!! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic B& B, great location and superb hosts. Why can't all breakfast's be as good as this one!

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay Simon, we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Simon D | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Peace and Tranquility- Rating 4/5

Clean, comfortable, peaceful and tranquil place!Being family run, you feel at home away from home!

Response

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again soon, we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:P\'moro A | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Welcoming atmosphere at Brantfell - Rating 5/5

I just spent 3 nights at Brantfell House and recommend it to anyone spending some time in the Ambleside - Grasmere area. Mandy and Adrian are wonderful hosts, my accommodation was cosy and clean and the breakfasts are just perfect to set you up for a long day of sightseeing or hiking in the superb location.

Response

Hi Jacqueline we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Brantfell, it was great to have you as a guest and we hope that next time you are in England you will come and visit us.

Reviewer:Jacqueline L | Sun 15th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Brantfell Stay - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic weekend away in the Lake District staying at Brantfell House. We will definitely be returning!

Reviewer:Chris R | Mon 2nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Breakfast - Rating 4/5

Made to feel welcome, breakfast was lovely. Rooms clean and well looked after. Pity the owners are selling as we would revisit.

Reviewer:Dean T | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful place - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The location is great, the breakfast is amazing, the room was comfortable, and the parking badge was provided.

Reviewer:Radmehr M | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault the service & the guest house .Great Location for a base .

Reviewer:Paul P | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend in Ambleside- Rating 5/5

We were just in Ambleside for the Weekend to attend a wedding on Saturday. We decided to make a weekend of it and stayed at Brantfell House on Friday and Saturday night. The owners, Jane and Chris, were very welcoming, the room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and we had a very nice stay at Brantfell House. We would have no problems recommending it as a reasonably priced place to stay for a weekend in a beautiful part of the world.

Reviewer:Norman W | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderfully comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Chris and Jane were wonderful hosts for my one night stop over in Ambleside. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious! I would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Reviewer:Helen C | Tue 4th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay with a perfect central location in Ambleside- Rating 5/5

We received a nice warm welcome and we're shown up to a lovely room at the top of he house. The room was much more spacious than we imagined, with a slightly separate seating area which was absolutely great for getting organised. TV faced the bed though, rather than the sofa so maybe a second tv would be just the thing.The room was really spotlessly clean, the bed was great and the furniture was lovely and all of the fittings were good quality.The food at breakfast was great. A small buffet of lovely colourful fresh fruit and granola etc and the cooked element was perfect - ate the lot!Free wifi worked perfectly and had keys to come down go as we wished.All in all, a great place to stay.

Reviewer:Ivan H | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous welcome and care - Rating 5/5

The lovely Jane was welcoming and helpful. The room was immaculate and the breakfast especially good. All locally sourced and prepared by Chris. The best breakfast I have had in the Lake District. We will be back next year.

Reviewer:Margaret P | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Jared & Barbara Earl - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Brantfell on a Friday and Saturday night and could not have been happier.The greeting from Chris and Jane was enthusiastic and lovely, the room spacious, clean, bright the views spectacular and the breakfast was beautiful. Thank you both for a lovely stay and Alfie says thanks for the sausage. We will stay again

Reviewer:Jared E | Mon 19th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


lovely relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Brantfell while doing some walking in the Lake District.Very comfortable. Charming hosts and a wonderful breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. John S | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


as usual - Rating 5/5

High standards as usual,exellant hosts, nothing too much trouble, and possibly the best breakfast in the Ambelside.

Reviewer:Mr. graham l | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Thoroughly recommend Brantfell House - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay at Brantfell House in Ambleside, our room was clean, bright and very spacious, as we have a superking bed at home was delighted with the superking bed, nothing was too much trouble and the owners were lovely and very friendly. Would recommend Brantfell House as a great place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Leslie W | Sat 27th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Everything we needed - Rating 5/5

Our room was very well appointed, had great views and was very clean. Breakfast was exceptional with lots of homemade produce ( the potatoe cakes were lovely) The owners were not overbearing but were there to chat advise and support when required. Would love to stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Naomi K | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 2 nights plus dog. Well equipped, comfortable & clean room (standard double) even had nice biscuits :-)Jane & Chris were very welcoming and would do anything to ensure our stay was enjoyable.Breakfast was delicious & the homemade granola was the best we've had.Location of B& B was perfect for us & would highly recommend to anyone considering staying in Ambleside.

Reviewer:Miss. Melissa P | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful stay- Rating 5/5

We received a very warm welcome from Chris & Jane. The accommodation was to a very high standard. The cold and hot breakfast selection was outstanding and cooked to perfection. A great town centre location with easy access to surrounding places of interest.

Reviewer:Mr. AnthonyB | Fri 8th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


A lovely place!- Rating 4/5

We had a great time at Brantfell, the location is ideal, parking included and the hosts were fab! Very welcoming and lovely breakfasts. Will be back soon :)

Reviewer:Miss. Hayley greenwood| Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Our stay at brantfell house. - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay at brantfell house again! It's our 3rd time we've stayed here & it's our favourite b& b in Ambleside! Chris & Jayne are lovely people & cater to your every need! The rooms are really clean & very comfortable & have everything you need! The breakfast is marvellous! Highly recommend!

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew B | Mon 26th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic welcoming hosts! - Rating 5/5

We came to Brantfell house for a long weekend away.Jane and Chris are fantastic hosts, so warm and welcoming. They will do anything for you (even lend you a coat!)The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and handwash and shower gel from a local company was lovely.The B& B is in a lovely location overlooking the park and mini golf course. No road noise in the evening, very quiet, had a great sleep.The breakfast is fantastic, loads of options and jane will cook anything you want and as much as you want. The produce is all excellent quality and from the local area.Short walk to the lake and town centre, loads of lovely shops and places to eat. I would highly recommend the apple pie factory!We will definitely be coming back to brantfell house.Thank you for a lovely stay!

Reviewer:Mr. eric l | Tue 11th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic stay- Rating 5/5

Great location, beautiful room, fantastic breakfasts and hosts- we will definitely stay again

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennie J | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Equinox weekender - Rating 5/5

Arrived about 5.30, able to park at the back of the house, which made unpacking easy. Our room was comfortable and spacious. We particularly liked the mini lounge area. Very convenient location for pubs and restaurants.Took bus down to Bowness from stop just round the corner.Both breakfasts were spot on.The full English veggie breakfast set me up well for an 8 mile hike.We are already planning a return trip for the next equinox

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth F | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


good location - Rating 5/5

we had two nights at the brantfell it was in a good location close to the town rooms were clean and modern, owners were very helpful and nice,good choice for breakfast plenty of it would book again

Reviewer:Mr. Gary C | Tue 10th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely Stay!!!- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Brantfell House. We will be booking again very soon! Our room was very clean and spacious, the breakfast was excellent. Looking forward to staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark R | Tue 7th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

Booked this B & B last minute and was not disappointed, owners were fantastic, room was excellent, breakfast superb with a range of home made products which were very yummy, will definitely stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Paul S | Thu 2nd Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Comfy room - brilliant breakfasts! - Rating 5/5

We'd not been to Ambleside before, and there was a lot of choice, but I think we selected well. Jane and her husband at Brantfell looked after us splendidly;our room at the top of the house, which had, I'm sure, been recently revamped (including a lovely walk-in shower) had great views (albeit the four flights of stairs were a bit hard on the old thigh muscles!) and was very comfortable. Brantfell is just on the south side of the town centre, so the perfect location to seek out one of the many eating options but also within a minute or so's walk of open countryside.I've saved the best 'til last - the breakfasts! They were brilliant;the variety was amazing (smoked haddock, eggs benedict and pancakes as well as any combination of the traditional 'English') and the ample portions meant we were well set up for the day!The honesty bar was a useful facility, too.

Reviewer:Mrs. Meryl A | Tue 23rd Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Brantfell - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and well run. Lovely stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Andrea S | Tue 23rd Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Wonderful hosts - Rating 5/5

What lovely hosts!! Nothing was too much trouble, Jane and Chris really went out of their way to ensure we had a fabulous stay. The breakfasts were delicious and knowledge of the area including walks and restaurants very helpful. The room had everything required, was to a high standard and extremely clean. All in all a fantastic stay, can't wait to return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline P | Wed 17th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Mr. - Rating 5/5

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and the location is a good starting point for our visit in Lake District. Accommodation is comfortable, clean and will furnished with the necessary amenities.

Reviewer:Mr. Wing Seng C | Sun 7th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Number One Choice - Rating 5/5

This is my fourth time at Brantfell which is my number one choice ofplaces to stay in Ambleside. Top quality accommodation which is always clean and tidy, breakfast from 8:00 if you ask (important if you want to get out onto the fells early) and a great choice of tasty breakfast options. Good sized rooms with excellent up to date facilities and decor. Hosts Jane and Chris are very friendly and a delight to stay with. Overall a very pleasant and comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip H | Wed 27th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

We only had one night at Brantfell House but our hosts made us feel very welcome and gave an abundance of help and advice. We felt at home immediately we arrived. Excellent room and breakfast. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas B | Mon 25th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


outstanding - Rating 5/5

An extremely warm welcome.First class breakfasts.Nothing too much trouble. Could have had your dinner off the bathroom floor - so clean.The large bedroom was amazing for a b and b. One very small criticism - thesignage outside was so cool the place was hard to find.But we quickly forgave them.Thank you for a great stay

Response

It was delightful to meet you all and, thank you for your kind comments. We have taken note re the signage and this is being altered to make it more noticeable. We are always grateful for constructive comments.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark H | Sat 9th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

Booked the last room last minute. Beds very comfy & believe me I'm very fussy. Thought there might be more traffic noise as we faced the road but it was fine with the secondary glazing. Woke up when it got light as need black out curtains though. Breakfast good with lots of choice and very nice home made granola. Shame we got the 2 days of rain after a month of sun! Oh well.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments.It was a shame you did not mention, when you were here, that you did not like being wakened by the daylight. We could have done something about it at the time. We have taken note, however, and something will be made to block the light coming in through the window in question.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mandy P | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Outstanding find! - Rating 5/5

Outstanding Bed and Breakfast accommodation. From the moment we were met to our exit we could not fail to be impressed. Exceptionally clean and tidy room with excellent decor and facilities. Breakfast choice very impressive and cooked to order. Will certainly be re-visiting even if we need to travel off route in the future. Excellent hosts in every way.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We always say that everything is 2 way. i.e it is a priviledge to meet delightful people which, makes our job so much nicer and easier.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith G | Tue 29th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Brantfell - Rating 5/5

We had a spacious room on the second floor, with great views out towards the Fairfield Horseshoe. Breakfasts were substantial and there was extensive choice. Chris and Jane are great hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Roy M | Sun 11th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Brantfell House - Rating 5/5

warm friendly atmosphere, spotlessly clean room, bedding, bathroom etc. Outstanding breakfast. Very good value for money. Very friendly, helpful hosts. Highly reccommend a stay here. Very convenient for shops restaurants etc. Parking permit provided for the length of our stay - this was very useful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie S | Sat 19th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent Stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay at Brantfell, the rooms were great, clean and quiet, our hosts were pleasant and courteous with plenty of local knowledge, and the breakfasts were top class.Would recommend this hotel to all, and we would stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart L | Tue 15th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Back again! - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit after a five year absence, and it was just as we remembered:a clean and stylish room and the best breakfast we have had anywhere. Tremendously good value.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane K | Tue 15th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

We spent 2 nights in room 5 on the top floor. The room was very clean and bright, with nice fell view out the back of the building. Chris and Jane where great hosts and also there housekeeper who was always pleasent and chatted with us each day. Breakfasts where excpetional, as big or as small as you like, nothing seemed a problem. great location with on site parking. would certainly recommend to friends and would stay again! thanks for a great stay, brilliant sunny weather always helps too! :-)

Reviewer:Mr. Mark B | Tue 25th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Fantastic B&B - Rating 5/5

Hi,I don't normally write reviews but I thought I would on this occasion.What a great little B& B this is.Ideal location and the owners couldn't be more helpful and nothing is a problem for them.They even have an honesty bar which I didn't use but I just thought this was a great little touch.After a fabulous nights sleep in the small double room which is more than suitable I was hungry and my goodness what a breakfast I was served with.Absolutely unreal.Would not hesitate at all to stay here again.Thankyou

Reviewer:Mr. Ant W | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Top B&B - Rating 5/5

Absolutely perfect for us and the breakfast was excellent. Stronger Wi-Fi using devolo plugs would be the only improvement.

Reviewer:Mr. Adam D | Mon 10th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Fantastic B&B - Rating 5/5

Immediately on arrival we were made to feel welcome. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was excellent with numerous choice and everything is fresh and cooked to order. Location is perfect if you want to explore Ambleside & not far if you want to walk to the marina to get the ferry over to Bowness for the day. Chris and Jane are excellent hosts ... Will defiantly be returning ..

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma G | Mon 10th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely B and B - Rating 5/5

Very nice stay at centrally located B and B in Ambleside.Lovely Breakfast, friendly hosts.Views over park from our double room to the fells. Room spacious and comfortable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kate P | Mon 14th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Steve & Diane Sept 2013 - Rating 5/5

Our builder recommended Brantfell House, because he had visited this B& B over many years, in 2008/9 he was involved in carrying out a major re-furb of all rooms, this was to an extremley high standard, we wer'nt disappointed on our stay, we were in room 3, although next time i would like to stay in No6 Top floor, having never ventured up this far of the country,so didnt know what to expect, we loved the area on arrival even though it was raining, Brentfell is in an ideal spot to explore Ambleside & surrounding areas, room was modern, well planned layout, clean, plenty of space for clothes etc,Ensuite was lovley too, the breakfast was fantastic & Jane made us feel very wellcome, giving us lots of local info etc, when we return in 2014, we will stay at Brantfell House.Thank you & Well done Chris & Jane for providing a well maintained clean & lovley B& B

Reviewer:Mr. Steven P | Mon 16th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Ste - Rating 4/5

This is a great little B& B. Exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated. Great location. Good choice of breakfast - cereals through to cooked breakfast of your choice. fresh juice,tea,coffee etc..My girlfriend is not a fan of cooked English breakfast - but was won over with this breakfast. Very filling, no need to eat until evening time which is good when walking in the hills.Parking is very limited, but Chris did sort it out for us. My girlfriend did find the room a little on the small side.We would both highly recommend this great little B& B again and would look at booking again on the next visit to ambleside

Reviewer:Mr. Steven F | Mon 16th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Highly recommended breakfast was great, beds were really comfortable and Jane and Chris give a really warm welcome.We had our two dogs with us who were also well catered for with a sausage each for breakfast every morning. Well placed for easy access to Ambleside and all the attractions around.

Reviewer:Mrs. Beverly T | Sun 1st Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Brantfell House - Rating 5/5

This is a great little B & B. It was our first experience of a B & B and believe we will not find one as good as this when we come to look again.Both of the owners aim to please and will do anything to help! The breakfasts are amazing and an endless choice of things to have.We would definately stay here again should we visit the area again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen F | Mon 5th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Jaspers stay - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed with Chris and Jane at Brantfell,yet again we,ve had a brilliant stay.The room spacious, spotless,and a huge comfortable bed,much needed after a good walk in the fells.The breakfasts where do we begin,the choice and quality is fantastic with a sausage thrown in for Jasper too.Can,t wait to go back !

Reviewer:Mrs. Teresa W | Sun 28th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

had a great stay, lovely rooms, good view, good food, friendly hosts, everything you could wish for. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Trevor B | Sun 14th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


July 5th 2013 - what a scorcher! - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay, very clean and comfortable rooms and fab breakfast.Jane is also a very talented artist, and good luck for your art room project.We will come again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynette M | Mon 8th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Great Accommodation - Rating 5/5

This was our second time staying at Brantfell House. Its location in Ambleside makes it a great base for exploring the Lakes and there are plenty of places to choose from to enjoy an evening meal nearby. I would recommend 'The Priest Hole' - amazing food. The rooms are ample in size and clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast choice is very good and everything tastes delicious. Overall, this is a lovely place to stay in the Lake District and we hope to return in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jenny M | Fri 14th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


V nice - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, lots of breakfast choice and helpful with questions. Nice room.

Reviewer:Mr. Craig R | Thu 23rd May 2013 | 5 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Brantfell House is the ideal location for those wanting to potter around Ambleside and has good links to the rest of the Lakes. The owners were fantastic and welcoming. Room (double) was a great size and a double shower added a bit of luxury. Breakfast was amazing, lots of options and very tasty!We will definately be coming backCelia and Andy

Reviewer:Miss. Celia R | Wed 27th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Brantfell House - Rating 5/5

Made most welcome. Excellent accommodation. Breakfast was cooked to perfection with plenty of choice. Great location would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie C | Mon 25th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Cosy and Convenient- Rating 4/5

The owners were lovely, the room was great. Comfy bed, beautiful bathroom and shower! Everything was clean! Great portion sizes for breakfast and great choice of breakfast items. Awesome location. Reasonable rates. We shall stay again!

Reviewer:Miss. Lauren R | Tue 4th Dec 2012 | 5 years ago


Ambleside Stay - Rating 5/5

Great location, nice rooms and a plentiful breakfast. Hosts friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Eric W | Sun 11th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great weekend at this B& B. The owners are extremely friendly & couldn't do enough for us. The junior suite was spacious with a huge bed, plenty of storage, great new bathroom with powerful shower. The breakfasts were superb;lovely cereals, bread, jams, fruit, yoghurt, and any kind of hot breakfast ingredient you can imagine, cooked to order. Would definitely recommend this lovely B& B

Reviewer:Miss. Melanie L | Mon 5th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


Great B and B - Rating 5/5

owners are fantastic people!

Reviewer:Mr. F. D | Thu 27th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Fantastic place - Rating 5/5

We stayed two nights in the Junior Suite. Chris and Jane made us very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were fantastic, and the rooms were spotlessly clean and very nicely designed and furnished. Our parking was also sorted out for us, which was very helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Daniel J | Mon 3rd Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

Had a fabulous couple of days - room very spacious-bed amazingly comfortable and exceptionally clean.Breakfast was amazing had to ask for half size on day 2 but meant you didn't need to eat for the rest of day.Would highly recommend.Chris & Jane were very welcoming ,nothing too much trouble-did not do evening meal but would lay out table if you wanted to go back with take a way-thought this was brilliant idea.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol H | Thu 30th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Good Place to Stay - Rating 4/5

Just spent three nights at Brantfell House. Good quality accommodation and excellent breakfasts. Can recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony T | Wed 22nd Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Stay 11/13.08.12 - Rating 5/5

superb accommodation, lovely clean & spacious room. Breakfast was brilliant, well cooked & never had to wait too long. Chris & Jane were extremely kind & helpful. Hope to be back

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison S | Wed 15th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


two nightstay - Rating 5/5

lovely clean room and bathroom,big double shower,just wish room had been bigger,jane could not do enough for you lovely lady,if no room to park at back of guest house take car parking ticket to jane and she will refund you the money,breakfast great give the brantfell a try.

Reviewer:Mr. Gerard M | Sat 28th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


ENJOYABLE STAY - Rating 5/5

I found my room to be clean and comfortable and the en-suite of a high standard.The breakfast menu was comprehensive and, although I don't eat hot food for breakfast,the food looked very good.I was made to feel at home and would definitely stay at Brantfell again.

Reviewer:Mr. Dennis B | Fri 27th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Brantfell house - Rating 5/5

Everything you could want is at Brantfell House, excellent hosts and food, superior rooms, situated in the centre of Ambleside with parking making it ideal for touring the Lakes.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert E | Tue 17th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and food, shame about the weather!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Janette J | Sun 1st Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Brantfell House - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay;warm hosts;beautiful room and en-suite;great breakfast;very convenient for town.I whole-heartedly recommend Brantfell House.

Reviewer:Mrs. Shiela H | Sun 19th Feb 2012 | 6 years ago